Masamune-kun’s Revenge – episode 1

Episode title: The Boy Who Was Called Pig’s Foot

kimmie_button

KimmieKawaii pick

As a child, Masamune Makabe once suffered greatly at the hands of a wealthy and beautiful girl named Aki Adagaki, who nicknamed him “Piggy” due to his chubby appearance. Seeking revenge against his tormentor, Masamune works hard to improve himself and returns as an incredibly handsome, albeit narcissistic, high school student. When he encounters Aki once again, he is prepared to exact vengeance.

KimmieKawaii

With slice of life romantic-esque type comedies, I never anticipate too much in the way of plot. Because of this, I’m watching Masamune with an open mind regarding the level of narrative depth. With that said, the story is primarily common in anime: tsundere characters who were once childhood friends turned rivals — not exactly an original plot. As expected, the first episode explained a bit of back story and begun developing the cast of characters. I thought this, along with the detailed animation, was well done.

From the start of the episode, viewers are privy to a bit of male fanservice, with Masamune flexing his arms in the mirror, and showing off his defined torso, after his shower. A welcomed plot distraction meant to increase thirsty girls viewership tenfold (psst… it’s working) This episode also gave rise to an awesome new insult, referring to someone as a ‘pigs foot.’  Finally, there is a Kirito-like moment (ala Sword Art Online) where Masamune comes to the rescue.  I wasn’t sure whether to respond with an eye roll or  a warm, fuzzy “awww….” (I chose the latter). So, yes… looking forward to next weeks episode and how everything will play out.

Good
-Glimpse of main characters’ backstories.
-Male fanservice!

Bad
-Typical romantic comedy fodder
-Potential Gary Stu main protagonist

 

Weekend Otaku

This show has a fairly simple premise that the first episode wasted no time in reaffirming. Doing this as a comedy was the right way to go because it would be rather sad otherwise. Vanity is key theme here, which the show will likely give some lesson on later. The main characters are pretty awful people. I did like that they gave the girl some embarrassing flaw, yet showed that she’s craftier than Makabe-kun assumed. It could be interesting, but I have a pretty good idea where this is going already.

Animation is really nice. They even animated the dust really well when Masamune was looking into the storage room (some specks visible in the shot above). I thought it was Kyoto Animation until I saw “Silver Link” about 80 times in the ED. The OP is decent and voice acting is pretty good so far, but why is Kousei Arima playing a vindictive vain jerk?

Good
-Aki’s quirkiness
-Comedic potential
Natsuki Hanae!!

Bad
-Predictable?
-Possibly idolizes vanity


This post is part of our seasonal episodic review series. To view all the posts in this series, click the following link: Viewing Party

11 thoughts on “Masamune-kun’s Revenge – episode 1

Add yours

  1. I found this first episode pretty ordinary, though that was before I checked out some of the show’s today and now I’m thinking this show isn’t so bad. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, it’s really interesting getting the two perspectives on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear that. I want you to watch this show, just so I can see your reaction when it almost inevitably goes to cliche town. 😀

      We we originally going to do these as a weekly post, but then I thought when it goes into full swing we’ll be talking about 10 shows at once and I don’t know how well that would go with this format.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I agree with you Karandi. The negative body image turned narcissism. On top of that a slender girl and her equally unhealthy relationship with food because she is worried about how others will perceive her. If I dwell on those things, I immediately want to stop watching.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. It was pretty much ordinary to me until, he reads the note in the end. Well that was so funny and looking forward to the next episode. 😁👍
    Though I have a slight feeling that it might disappoint at the end of the season. 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The note was a surprisingly humorous twist. I literally LOLed seeing it. I’m sort of with you in that it will probably end up being a disappointment. You have to watch it with that mindset. Don’t expect any thought provoking or life affirming moments and you’ll be fine 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Yeah I was also pleasantly surprised by the note at the end. Found out so soon? Haha! I’m also approaching this one with an open mind so it’ll be an interesting one to watch. I laughed at the “kirito-Esque” moment because the moment they showed masamune I thought I was looking at a kirito clone. I love the cocky facade that he poses to have but on the inside he’s still a coward haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought the exact same thing! Kirito clone! Weekend Otaku was worried that people wouldn’t get my reference but I knew someone would understand when I mentioned Kirto… saving the day one humbling super heroic act at a time… gag!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. haha yay! I got it! he does look strikingly similar to him tho. And yeah gosh coming to save the day…totally saw that coming…he kinda reminds me of the Kanie Seiya in Amagi Brilliant Park with how hot he thinks he is lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Apprentice Mages Lounge.

Anime discussion in a relaxed atmosphere.

Pop Culture Literary

Your home base for engaging literary exploration through pop culture. If you have a literary device you're having trouble with, you've come to the right place!

lotsofframes

Rachael's big fat dumb thoughts on anime.

Animei-chan

Exploring Great Depths for your Entertainment!

All About Anime

An anime blog looking at all aspects of the anime life

Shokamoka's Blog of Wonders

You're not going anywhere.

GeekyGirlWrites

Reviews for teens and adults on their favorite books, TV shows, and much more!

My Thoughts of Madness

Writing out my thoughts...

Keiko's Anime blog

A bubble of crappy anime reviews and the likes

UnimeTV

Uniting Anime One Fan At A Time

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

atelier emily

for me, in full bloom

The Tiny World of an Anime Amateur

Thoughts and ramblings on anime, manga and visual novels

Yagami Game Reviews

Gaming | Movies | Comics

