ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka – Episode 1

Episode Title: Jean the Cigarette Peddler

weekendotaku_button

WeekendOtaku pick

The kingdom of Dowa, which is subdivided into 13 states, is celebrating its monarch’s 99th birthday. These 13 states have many agencies that are controlled by the giant organization known as ACCA. Within ACCA, Jean Otus is the second-in-command of the inspection agency. His agency has ten people placed in each of the 13 states, with a central office in the capital city. They keep track of all the activities of ACCA across the kingdom, and keep data on each state’s ACCA office flowing toward the central office. Jean also often has business trips from the capital to the other districts to check on the situation and personnel there.

Weekend Otaku

The world of ACCA: 13 operates by allowing its municipal duties to be carried out by the members of the extra-governmental ACCA organization. This includes police, firemen, and in the case of our protagonist, oversight departments to maintain order and discipline among the various units. That said, the story opens on the notice that Jean’s Inspection department will no longer be needed. Jean’s job as an inspector has him going to various districts to audit and investigate the departments, including his own. He is clearly very good at his job but is seemingly emotionless through it all, to the point where not even the notice of his department’s termination seems to phase him. He’s a character that’s as mysterious as the plot that is slowly developing underneath.

When I say slow, I mean it. There is only the smallest hint of something going on within the ACCA organization. The decision to disband the department is overturned thanks to Jean’s unwitting efforts, but at the cost of painting a target on his back. What that actually means is yet to be seen.

The animation is simplistic with a general lack of detail on faces and coloring alike, but isn’t bad by any means. Its brightness makes it difficult to feel like there is anything sinister afoot, even when it seems like people are targeting Jean, which is either very clever or lazy, though I’m leaning towards the former. Overall there is very little of substance to hook a viewer if Jean’s carefully masked intuition doesn’t intrigue you.

Good
Subtle air of mystery
Great world building through dialogue and interactions

Bad
Very slow development thus far
Info-dumping dialogue can be confusing

KimmieKawaii

This is what I was able to surmise so far about this series: the world is divided into 13 districts, all governed by an institution known as ACCA. All the branches of ACCA are overseen by an Inspection Department. The vice chairman of this department is Jean; who has a nasty nicotine addiction by the way.

It appears the main arc of this series follows a notification for the termination of the Inspection Dept. Although the Dept was founded to seek out corruption and treason, after many years of peace, such vigilance is no longer deemed necessary. After Jean is dispatched to a rural place, where he discovers some black market activity, the higher powers in the company suddenly decide not to terminate the Inspection Dept. after all. (I smell something fishy…) Another interesting point is that after Jean uncovers this illegal activity, he is punished by having to take on more responsibilities. Oh and I’m pretty sure he is being tailed by a spy (or some guy that just happens to be everywhere Jean is?)

Now, in order to summarize this for you, I had to really think it through for awhile. The pace of this series is extremely slow and I think I might have spaced out a time or two. I kept thinking that I was missing important information but, in actuality, I wasn’t.  Regardless, I’m interested enough to see where this is headed. With that said, if the pace doesn’t pick up, I’m afraid my interest will likely wane. Everything from the conversations to the more “tense” moments were executed in a very calm, collected way. Nothing to scream out “something relevant is happening, pay attention.”  In the end, maybe it is just too highbrow for me?  Time will tell.

Good 
OP song, Shadow and Truth by ONE III NOTES will absolutely leave you feeling pumped!
Animation was unique; many of the character’s have droopy puppy dog eyes?

Bad
The monotone feeling of episode one left little impression on me.


This post is part of our seasonal episodic review series. To view all the posts in this series, click the following link: Viewing Party

10 thoughts on “ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka – Episode 1

Add yours

  1. I kind of felt bad for Jean when he was kind of looking forward to less travel after the department closed and then he was ‘rewarded’ with a much busier schedule. Seems like the usual inter-office silliness really where the higher ups are all playing for power against one another.
    I did find this first episode slow but I was also intrigued by the world and I kind of want to know where they are going so I’m looking forward to more of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Somehow WordPress failed to notify me about your comment so I didn’t see it until now. Sorry about that. It’s still not showing in my history :/

      I figured this was one of the shows you watched before or after Fuuka that put you in a better mood. Jean definitely does seem to want a quieter life, but being good at something usually leads to more work, not less. He should learn to slack more.

      This is definitely typical upper management power plays, but that’s one of the things I think this episode portrayed well. A lot of times in stories like this, the command structure is ignored or bypassed so the hero can do stuff. ACCA is clearly a large organization, and we were given a good understanding of where Jean fits in. He also doesn’t seem to be the type to rebel against it – not yet anyway.

      I’m exactly in the same place as you. It was slow, but I definitely want to see where it goes.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It is cool, it’s just that I know Madhouse can do heaps better like you can see with One Punch Man and Death Parade.

      The art style looks pretty close to the manga though, so I don’t fault it at all. The animation techniques and color choices just feel a little limited, but they kind of fit for the tone they’re going for as well. I can’t call it beautiful, but it does work.

      Like

  2. Hmm…I don’t completely dislike slow shows firsthand ( at least not if the plot is interesting), and I do have to admit that I like the premise for this series. It sounds pretty cool actually.

    Like

      1. Yes I have started on Stein’s Gate, and you are right there…it starts slow. I still have not got a clue as to what kind of show this is (lol) but I am going to continue it nonetheless. Another series I am currently following (but which is a pretty big investment, timewise) is Monster. It runs for 72 episodes but oh boy is it good 😀 It did came across in your review, as you are not dismissing it firsthand. Am looking forward to reading more, as I said the plot just sounds very interesting 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey!

    I was rather surprised by episode one. Like raistlin0903 pointed already in comments, I enjoyed the premise and Jean aura of calmness hooked me in. Hope it turns out to be a good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Apprentice Mages Lounge.

Anime discussion in a relaxed atmosphere.

Pop Culture Literary

Your home base for engaging literary exploration through pop culture. If you have a literary device you're having trouble with, you've come to the right place!

lotsofframes

Rachael's big fat dumb thoughts on anime.

Animei-chan

Exploring Great Depths for your Entertainment!

All About Anime

An anime blog looking at all aspects of the anime life

Shokamoka's Blog of Wonders

You're not going anywhere.

GeekyGirlWrites

Reviews for teens and adults on their favorite books, TV shows, and much more!

My Thoughts of Madness

Writing out my thoughts...

Keiko's Anime blog

A bubble of crappy anime reviews and the likes

UnimeTV

Uniting Anime One Fan At A Time

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

atelier emily

for me, in full bloom

The Tiny World of an Anime Amateur

Thoughts and ramblings on anime, manga and visual novels

Yagami Game Reviews

Gaming | Movies | Comics

