Winter 2017 Week 1 – “Welp…”

As outlined in our seasonal anime party announcement post, KimmieKawaii and I are reviewing a number of shows during the Winter 2017 season. Each week we will have a summary post with our brief feelings on the week’s offerings and update all of you on where we stand with each show.

This first week is unfortunately off to a rocky start as we have had to make a few adjustments to our plans.

Note: You can click on the show’s link to see all the posts we’ve done on it thus far, though each would only have one episode reviewed at the time of this posting.

weekendotaku button WeekendOtaku’s shows

  1. Saga of Tanya the Evil – debut 01/06
  2. Little Witch Academia
  3. Chiruran 1/2
  4. ACCA 13-Ku Kansatsu-ka -debut 01/10
  5. Onihei

kimmie button KimmieKawaii’s shows

  1. Granblue Fantasy The Animation
  2. Kuzu no Honkai
  3. Chaos;Child
  4. Masamune-kun’s Revenge – debut 01/05
  5. Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon

Normally we would be using the strikethrough convention to signify a show has been dropped. While that is still somewhat the case this week, the shows marked out might still get watched, but we’re not reviewing them as part of this seasonal party anymore.

Why? Oh please, let me explain.

Granblue Fantasy pulled a fake out with what was originally supposed to be a Jan 2017 release now turning into April. I don’t know how we were supposed to know this ahead of time, or even when these decisions get made, but we apparently need a more reliable source for this sort of thing.

granblue fantasy art
The real fantasy here was the release date

Chiruran 1/2 aired on time, on Crunchyroll in the US, and then was over before I knew what happened. This is because I apparently can’t read.

A picture showing a two minute duration

Don’t ask me how I missed that. I’m crabby enough as it is and I’m likely to snap at you. I don’t see any point in reviewing a short every week in this format. I’ll just wait until the season ends, then binge all 20 minutes of footage or however long this show gives us. Ugh.

A  picture of Chiruran's promo ad
Wait. They’re all… short! 😦

What breaks my heart the most is Little Witch Academia. I believe people have gotten this show in Japan, but it’s nowhere to be found in the US, for which Netflix picked up the distribution. Because of the way Netflix works, it’s very likely that they won’t add it to their lineup until all the episodes air – the same way they do all their other shows. Don’t spend extra money for exclusive licensing if you’re not going to simulcast, you morons! 

A picture of witches flying upside down

Ahem.

To replace these shows, KimmieKawaii is picking up ēlDLIVE from her alternate list and I picked Spiritpact on a whim because I was mad and I wanted something to watch. We will keep you appraised of any other replacements as we decide on them. With that said, here are the summaries for the shows we did manage to watch this week:


Fully Invested:

WeekendOtaku

  • Masamune-kun’s Revenge: Disreputable character motivations and personalities alike, but it comes off pretty funny regardless. MC’s master plan is foiled already? I want to see where this goes.
  • Saga of Tanya the Evil: It’s WWI. Do you need more than that? The series hasn’t offered much yet but there is some pretty neat magic. The mystery of Tanya herself is enough to keep me interested for now.
  • ēlDLIVE: A pleasant art style and some genuinely entertaining characters thus far. Seems to rely on comedy but does so in an amusing way.

KimmieKawaii

  • Masamune-kun’s Revenge: classic rom com anime with decent story and character development thus far. Enough to keep me interested for the time being!
  • ēlDLIVE: creative plot line, colorful personalities, and solid animation has kept me intrigued so far.

Still Watching (but not sold):

WeekendOtaku

  • Spiritpact: This was a lot more funny than it was eventful. Exorcist shows seem to be popular now, though the premise of this one seems kind of generic as far as those go. Still interested to see where it goes because the MC is quite different.
  • ACCA: 13: A very low key and subtle plot thus far, but the worldbuilding done thrugh natural conversation was a nice approach. Jean is just interesting enough for me to be willing to follow along.

KimmieKawaii

  • Saga of Tanya the Evil: the recycled background character designs and the lack of backstory leaves little room for emotional investment. Fingers crossed that the plot will improve.
  • Spiritpact: using humor to execute an intense story plot may not be the best avenue for this series. Though the comedic moments entertained me during episode 1, I can see this becoming old quickly.
  • ACCA: 13: the subdued way that even the tense moments played out made for a boring viewing experience. Regardless, I’m patiently waiting to see how this initial plot buildup will unfold.

Dropped

We agreed to watch three episodes of each series before deciding to drop anything, so you won’t see anything here until at least week 3.


This post is part of our seasonal episodic review series. To view all the posts in this series, click the following link: Viewing Party

8 thoughts on “Winter 2017 Week 1 – “Welp…”

Add yours

  1. Lethargic ramblings post on Little witch academy pretty much says about how the show goes 😁✌
    eLdive is not my pick 😄😕 Hope to see how this show goes, ✌ from the reviews obviously

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I saw his post. From what I saw it seems like I’ll enjoy it but I’ll avoid the show going forward until I can watch it to avoid spoilers.

      Haha, what’s wrong with elDLIVE? Seems okay so far. I’ll be happy to let you know what I think of it each week either way.

      Your emoji collection is impressive. I can’t seem to figure out how to do anything outside of the basic ones.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Don’t have time to watch everything. Somehow elDLIVE seems like it could disappoint me 😜, don’t want to start until I hear the entire review for it.
        And lol, I will let you on a secret, I comment from my mobile. 😁✌. During the time when my fibernet was broken, I was using this wordpress app for at least 10 days and lol I feel in love with how I can use the emojis ✌😁😅.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah Netflix licensing sucks! I was annoyed I had to wait for Ajin season 2, but I guess the bright side is you can watch other shows and then just get to Little Witch Academia and just binge watch it all in one go. I’m thinking about doing a weekly review of what I’m watching since I think I’d be pretty bad at episodic ones per show spread out through the week! So I’m very much taken to this format you presented today 🙂

    Like

    1. Very cool! It would be great to see a breakdown of what you’re watching since it seems you’ve gotten into a few shows we haven’t. Please make one, and feel free to use this format or whatever you like.

      We were initially going to do a weekly post of our impressions, but since we’ve chosen 5 shows each I thought these would get pretty long with 10 shows being discussed by both of us. Not that long posts are anything new here, but I wanted to try out some shorter content and episodic reviews seem like a good option.

      I won’t mind a Little Witch binge, especially if people review it favorably. Just annoyed that I have to wait. >_<

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, id been playing with the idea for the new year, so I probably will do a weekly one. It’ll probably be lengthy. But I’ll you around with some kind of format this weekend. Thanks for the encouragement!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes between Netflix and Amazon Prime there are a couple of shows I just won’t get to see. Netflix because they won’t air it until it is done (like season 2 Ajin which I finally got to see) and Amazon Prime because I already have three subscriptions to services and I don’t want another one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear that. It adds up quick.

      Kimmie has Amazon Prime, which we renewed at full price on accident because she forgot when the discount period ended, but the free 2 day shipping is wonderful and it gets us Onihei and Scum’s wish this season. So, yay?

      I had a pretty vitriolic rant ready to post here about Amazon when it didn’t look like it was going to have those shows ready though, but they came through at the last minute and I retracted it 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

