Winter 2017 Week 4 – “Er, hang on…”

The Viewing Party is still going strong after trimming down our watch/review schedule to 4 shows each. With most of them past their intro phases, they start getting into their main stories while more serial ones like Dragon Maid and Onihei try to stay engaging. Keep reading to see which ones captured our interest the most this week.


weekendotaku button WeekendOtaku’s shows

  1. Saga of Tanya the Evil 
  2. ACCA: 13 Territory Inspection Dept 
  3. Onihei 
  4. Spiritpact

 

kimmie button KimmieKawaii’s shows

  1. Scum’s Wish
  2. Masamune-kun’s Revenge 
  3. Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid
  4. ēldLIVE

 

Despite a (slightly) trimmed schedule that I promised would lead to better reviews for the ones that remained, we’ve had some delays getting a few out. This might mean more delays down the line if we can’t manage to catch up, but we’ll do our best to get back on schedule soon. I wanted to post the weekly summary though, as we had settled on our general opinions on what we’ve watched.


Fully Invested:

WeekendOtaku

  • Masamune-kun’s Revenge: With some help from Yoshino Masamune’s latest ploy actually kind of works. Aki seems like she might be ready to get closer but a surprise at the end throws everything for a loop. I have to see where that goes, at least.
  • Saga of Tanya the Evil: Tanya’s careful planning to secure a ‘safe’ position in the army backfires when she oversteps her efforts. Some interesting things happen, but if this doesn’t pick up soon it might fall a category.
  • ACCA: 13 Territory Inspection Dept.: Jean’s latest audit opens his droopy eyes to more than he expected. The way he handles a tense situation seems so fitting for him though, and this series keeps getting more interesting.
  • Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid: I said this was one good episode away from a category bump, didn’t I? Dragon Maid is still the best comedy of the season.
  • Scum’s Wish: A show that can make me feel so many different emotions is doing something right. I’m still 100% hooked on this.

 

KimmieKawaii

  • Spiritpact: Despite this week’s episode being a bit less impressive than week 3, the characters, humor, and narrative are entertaining.
  • ACCA 13: This series moved up this week from ‘still watching,’ because of the enigma that is Jean Otus. For some reason, this monotone, reserved inspector is far deeper than what meets the eye.
  • Masamune-kun’s Revenge: Still predictable, but this series is enjoyable nonetheless for the humorous characters and slow building romance.
  • Scum’s Wish: Still the best part of my Winter 2017 viewing experience. This series just keeps getting better in all aspects (animation, narrative, characters, etc.)

Still Watching (but not sold):

WeekendOtaku

  • ēlDLIVE: Some decent development this week makes this interesting again, but I’ll wait for the end of the two-parter to see if this stays exciting.
  • Spiritpact: Kimmie has me convinced that there is more going on in this series than is immediately apparent. It’s passable as a series, but there might just be a really good story underneath all the caricature.
  • Onihei: A bit more exciting this week, but nothing of note that makes me look forward to more. This series is doing what it sets out to without over-achieving.

 

KimmieKawaii

  • ēlDLIVE: I’m still holding out that Misuzu’s will develop beyond a condescending, bitter teen. Chuuta’s growth and the narrative keep me watching.
  • Saga of Tanya the Evil: This series is entertaining enough, but seems to be a bunch of the same material executed in a slightly different way each week.
  • Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid: I’m only watching this now because of Fafnir’s angry, awkward personality. He may be the only thing to bump this series up into the ‘fully vested’ category.
  • Onihei: This series has taken an episodic turn, but it is still engaging enough. While I’m not anxiously anticipating each episode, I don’t inwardly groan at the thought of watching it either.

Dropped

No new drops this week.  For your reference here’s what we dropped earlier:

  • Hand Shakers: after 3 eps
  • Gabriel Dropout: after 3 eps

This post is part of our seasonal episodic review series. To view all the posts in this series, click the following link: Viewing Party

6 thoughts on “Winter 2017 Week 4 – “Er, hang on…”

Add yours

    1. I’ll be honest: This is the first time I’m trying this and it’s not so easy for us, which is why I easily fell behind when I had do deal with some other stuff last week. Coordinating just two people’s schedules to get reviews written is proving to be tricky too. We’ll get back on track though, somehow.

      How is Steins;Gate coming?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. For some weird reason your comment did not show, so sorry for the late response 😊 Well, even if this is your first time doing this, I think you are both doing a terrific job. I can imagine that things like these are pretty tough to pull off. Good luck with the rest. As for Steins Gate…I hope to get back on schedule as soon as I can. I am behind on a lot of things, especially posts and anime. I will keep you posted when I get around to it. What I have seen from it so far is very confusing, but I hear everybody saying that it is a show that will get better as things progress…so I will defintely stick with it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It did the same to me once. No worries.

          Thank you as always for your kind words. I know you’ve had some stuff going on yourself, but I hope all is well and that you can get back into the swing of things soon. We really love to converse with you about these shows.

          And yes, Steins;Gate gets awesome. Keep going 😛

          Like

  1. It must be hard trying to watch them with someone else. I do a lot of my watching in the early hours of the morning (to avoid work clashes or just being too tired to focus) but I can’t imagine how I’d manage if I had to wait for someone else to either watch with or have watched it before reviewing. A lot of admiration for you guys keeping up with the viewing party and I’m looking forward to the next week of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Watching doesn’t tend to so bad, but reviewing is harder (I feel like I’ve said that before). We both work all day so on weekdays we can only watch in the evenings after we get dinner sorted out. Being able to review after that depends on what else needs done. I’ve taken to trying to use my lunch break for writing when I don’t get enough done at home 😛

      But really, I wouldn’t want to do this any other way. Having someone to watch with is a lot more fun for me, and considering how few of my friends are anime fans it’s good to have someone around all the time to talk about it with.

      In any case, thanks a lot for your kind words. We always enjoy it when you stop by and share your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Apprentice Mages Lounge.

Anime discussion in a relaxed atmosphere.

Pop Culture Literary

Your home base for engaging literary exploration through pop culture. If you have a literary device you're having trouble with, you've come to the right place!

lotsofframes

Rachael's big fat dumb thoughts on anime.

Animei-chan

Exploring Great Depths for your Entertainment!

All About Anime

An anime blog looking at all aspects of the anime life

Shokamoka's Blog of Wonders

You're not going anywhere.

GeekyGirlWrites

Reviews for teens and adults on their favorite books, TV shows, and much more!

My Thoughts of Madness

Writing out my thoughts...

Keiko's Anime blog

A bubble of crappy anime reviews and the likes

UnimeTV

Uniting Anime One Fan At A Time

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

atelier emily

for me, in full bloom

The Tiny World of an Anime Amateur

Thoughts and ramblings on anime, manga and visual novels

Yagami Game Reviews

Gaming | Movies | Comics

