Winter 2017 Week 5

As we enter the fifth week of the Winter 2017 season, a lot of the shows seem to be trying to position themselves for more involved threads. Though we found some doing this more successfully than others, we’re still getting a sense of where each one might be headed.


weekendotaku button WeekendOtaku’s shows

  1. Saga of Tanya the Evil 
  2. ACCA: 13 Territory Inspection Dept 
  3. Onihei 
  4. Spiritpact

kimmie button KimmieKawaii’s shows

  1. Scum’s Wish
  2. Masamune-kun’s Revenge 
  3. Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid
  4. ēldLIVE

We’ve not completely caught up yet with the reviews, but we’re not far behind anymore either. I’ve spaced out our viewing schedule as well so that we have a bit more time to review in the evenings, so hopefully we’ll get these out on a more consistent pace.

Also I’m moving the weekly post to late Friday or Saturday so that it fits the viewing schedule more closely. This way we’ll have watched the same number of episodes for each show before doing a roundup.


Fully Invested:

WeekendOtaku

  • Masamune-kun’s Revenge: The addition of another girl could make things ridiculous, but the idea of someone playing Masamune while he tries to play Aki is fun.
  • ACCA: 13 Territory Inspection Dept.: A long awaited confrontation with Nino is built up well, and makes everything that might happen afterwards all the more intriguing.
  • Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid: Refocusing on Tohru this week lets us see how much she and Kobayashi have progressed. A very sweet episode, all things considered.
  • Scum’s Wish: A lot of confusing feelings as the characters struggle with the decision to let things go on as usual or do something they can’t come back from.

 

KimmieKawaii

  • Spiritpact: Since I’m absolutely sold on Ki and Kekia’s emotional connection, witnessing their binding ceremony this week gave me all the feels!
  • ACCA 13: Nino reveals to Jean that he has been the one tracking him, which Jean might have already suspected.  Between this and the hints that Mauve and Grossular may be on the “good team,” has me looking forward to the second half of the season.
  • Masamune-kun’s Revenge: Masamune finally semi-discloses his true feelings for Aki. In fitting with the theme of the show, Aki retorts with a challenge. Though predictable, the “aww” inducing moments and humor continue to be entertaining.
  • Scum’s Wish: A glimpse of Mugi’s convoluted soul and feelings he has developed for Hanabi ushers captivated viewers into next week’s episode.

Still Watching (but not sold):

WeekendOtaku

  • Saga of Tanya the Evil: Dropping a spot this week, Tanya seems to be treading water with the latest episode in terms of finding a narrative direction. I’m still hoping this will pick up again soon.
  • ēlDLIVE: A good conclusion to the two-parter started last week, and a new personal motivation for Chuuta gives this series some traction. While I’m not hyped for each new episode yet, I feel this is getting better.
  • Spiritpact: This series is still terrible at organic story development, but a renewed focus on the characters helps them grow on viewers a little. The extra effort to skew toward the absurd, however, makes me worry that the plot may never deliver.
  • Onihei: With as much fun as I had with this week’s episode, I’ll be looking forward to this show much more if it can maintain decent storytelling.

 

KimmieKawaii

  • ēlDLIVE: Though this series has progressed by finally delving into the mysterious, action filled main arc, some one note characters muddle the overall appeal .
  • Saga of Tanya the Evil: While I continue to root for Tanya, the absence of Being X in the last two episodes has me questioning the merit of this series as a whole.
  • Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid: While it is doubtful that I will ever consider the narrative relevant, I have become emotionally attached to some of these adorable characters.
  • Onihei: I continue to question everything about this series, from the episodic way the narrative unfolds to the introduction of a new character every single week. I am one disappointing episode away from nixing this series.

Dropped

No new drops this week.  For your reference here’s what we dropped earlier:

  • Hand Shakers: after 3 eps
  • Gabriel Dropout: after 3 eps

This post is part of our seasonal episodic review series. To view all the posts in this series, click the following link: Viewing Party

2 thoughts on “Winter 2017 Week 5

Add yours

  1. I have said it before, but some things are just at times worth repeating: I think it is awesome what you and Kimmie both are doing. I love the dual reviews of the series seeing things from both your own and Kimmie’s perspective. And the other thing I am pretty much in awe of is the amount of time invested in this. Watching all those series and finding time to review the episodes and combining the reviews. Fantastic! Am so far enjoying the ride a lot. I always watch shows after they are completed (well, most of the time, I have been known to make one or two exceptions). But it’s nice to see what I have to look forward to.
    Am currently on episode 12 of Stein’s Gate. I heard that this is the part where things are supposed to get better. I hope so, because honestly I have to admit that so far the series has not yet managed to excite me enough to like it. There are some great (and crazy) characters, but plotwise I am not (yet) having much fun, finding it boring at times. No worries though, I am sure it will pick up, so I am still sticking with it.
    Keep up the great work you two are doing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for your kind words, my friend. You never seem to have a shortage of nice things to say, and even if we’ve heard it before it feels really good to hear that you like what we do. It is a lot of work sometimes, but seeing how much others like yourself enjoy it makes it all worthwhile. Thank you again for the encouragement.

    When you say you are on ep 12, did you see it yet? The end of that episode starts down a path where things get really crazy. Before ep 12 it is a bit slow, and does a lot of introduction. Trust me when I say all these little things you are seeing will become relevant later, no matter how trivial they seem right now. Maybe I’m building it up too much, but by ep 15 it should be pretty clear whether you’ll like the series or not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

