Winter 2017 Week 6

As we head into the second half of Winter 2017 season, some series have managed to fall from glory, while others have risen to the occasion. The time for developing characters and back stories is over, as dramatic structure dictates the narrative head towards a riveting climax. 


weekendotaku button WeekendOtaku’s shows

  1. Saga of Tanya the Evil 
  2. ACCA: 13 Territory Inspection Dept 
  3. Onihei 
  4. Spiritpact

kimmie button KimmieKawaii’s shows

  1. Scum’s Wish
  2. Masamune-kun’s Revenge 
  3. Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid
  4. ēldLIVE

Upon reaching the mid season point we expect a lot of shows to set up some interesting hooks to carry them through their second halves, but this season most of the shows didn’t seem to take that opportunity at ep 6. Still, there were a few good showings that kept us entertained nonetheless.

As far as reviewing is going, we still haven’t managed to fully catch up with our pair from Amazon still pending a write up. I think this is why I originally planned to be a weekend otaku, as a few delays during the week really back things up, but we should know by now how my plans tend to go.


Fully Invested:

WeekendOtaku

  • Masamune-kun’s Revenge: Though we had some good focus on supporting characters this week, I feel like this needs some more development toward the main plot soon or this could drop a category.
  • ACCA: 13 Territory Inspection Dept.: Halfway through the season, this show still doesn’t seem to be driving toward something substantial. It’s still incredibly fascinating, but at this point I would really like to see a destination come into view
  • Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid: Pairing up all the dragons was fun, especially with Fafnir. I have concerns about the show’s content but I’m still loving this.
  • Scum’s Wish: Hanabi falls further in her search for fulfillment and self-worth. It’s sad to see her going this way, but intriguing as ever to watch. The series continues to excel with its character work.

 

KimmieKawaii

  • Spiritpact: Dissecting each episode to search for the subtle foreshadowing may turn some viewers off to this series but it is what keeps me completely engaged.
  • ACCA 13: Who is part of the coup and who is working to prevent it? ACCA continues to be far from predictable, making each episode eagerly anticipated.
  • Scum’s Wish: It is painful to watch someone slowly slipping off the edge, helpless to rescue them. Everything from the depth of the characters to the vivid animation has me longing for the next episode.
  • Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid: Given the episodic nature of this series, I’ve started enjoying it purely on a week by week bases. Therefore, it has finally made the shift into my “fully vested” category.

Still Watching (but not sold):

WeekendOtaku

  • Saga of Tanya the Evil: A bit better with the fighting this week, though Tanya is still fairly unstoppable. Looking forward to seeing her challenged by a new character, and for the narrative to hopefully get back on track.
  • ēlDLIVE: A lot of new faces this week and an arc that might see some development from Misuzu. The show is fun most of the time, but this episode didn’t make much of an impact on me.
  • Spiritpact: Could something finally be happening? A lot of interesting stuff is set up, and hopefully the series delivers. At this point it’s still better than what I thought it would be.
  • Onihei: Another ‘entertaining enough’ episode, though the show’s format doesn’t lend itself to intense ongoing interest. I still like this plenty enough to keep it.

 

KimmieKawaii

  • ēlDLIVE: The addition of more one-note characters, while finally fleshing out the main protagonists, has me questioning the focus of this series.
  • Saga of Tanya the Evil: I really am rooting for this series but recent episodes have left me a bit disappointed. The goal of this series is becoming more muddled as the focus shifts far too often.
  • Onihei: I am starting to think that the reason we are still watching this series is because we have “gone too far to turn back now.” Each episode is basically setting up a challenge that Onihei easily overcomes.
  • Masamune-kun’s Revenge: While Masamune has remained in my “fully vested” category for half the season, the redundant plot with unimaginative  twists have made for a stale series.

Dropped

No new drops this week.  For your reference here’s what we dropped earlier:

  • Hand Shakers: after 3 eps
  • Gabriel Dropout: after 3 eps

This post is part of our seasonal episodic review series. To view all the posts in this series, click the following link: Viewing Party

3 thoughts on “Winter 2017 Week 6

Add yours

  1. The fun thing about these posts is by the time I finally get around to watching these (yes I know I am terrible lol), I will reread the posts again after watching the episodes. Scum’s Wish and Acca 13 are so far my favorites. Finally finished Steins ; Gate today. I hope you won’t bite my head off (lol) but expected a bit more from it. Still, the good news is that I plan to rewatch it again later in the year, so the series has triggered something in me. Keep up the great work you guys are doing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, if you thought Steins;Gate moved slowly, wait until you try ACCA. Everything in it is very artistic though, and it’s fun to try to think about what’s going on under all the brief scenes.

      Also, no worries if you didn’t like Steins;Gate. Maybe it was too hyped up before you tried it out 😛 I thought Okarin’s journey was really interesting, but I can see how someone might want it to go in a slightly different direction.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, that I do truly agree with. As I said in my review for the series, I really loved the characters, and Okarin was really a fun character. I am going to rewatch this show in a few months time, just to see if the second time around, without the hype, I like it more. Acca really does seem like it has a cool premise, and I don’t mind slow as long as it is still interesting. (I enjoyed Orange for instance, which contained little to no action) Looking forward to it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

